

Boys' Latin of Philadelphia Charter School | 215.387.5149 | 5501 Cedar Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19143

# Meeting of the Board of Directors Wednesday, June 15, 2022 at 8:30 am Virtual Zoom Meeting

The meeting was called to order at 9:09 a.m.

<u>Board Members in Attendance</u>: Charles Barrett Adams, Michael Bowman, Joseph Conwell, Kevin Johnson, Albert Oehrle, Nancy Robinson-Garvin, Floyd Simpson, Stephen Smith, Patrick South, Elaine Wells, Wes Wyatt

Board Members Excused: Isaac Ewell, Amir Tucker, Kerry Woodward, Paul Yakulis

Staff in Attendance: Dr. William Hayes, Colleen Smith

<u>Guests</u>: Michael Frattone (Kleinbard LLC), Jenna Smalley (Kleinbard LLC)

#### I. Executive Session

An executive session was held to discuss agency business which, if conducted in public, would violate a lawful privilege or lead to the disclosure of information or confidentiality protected by law.

# II. Call to Order: Wes Wyatt

Mr. Wyatt calls the meeting to order and welcomes everyone attending virtually.

There is a motion to adopt the June 1, 2022 Boys' Latin Board of Directors meeting minutes, which is moved by Mr. South and seconded by Mr. Bowman. The motion passes unanimously.

# III. <u>Interim CEO Report</u>: Dr. William Hayes

There is a motion to approve the Data Sharing Memorandum of Understanding as previously circulated to the board, which is moved by Mr. Bowman and seconded by Ms. Robinson-Garvin. The following board members vote in the affirmative: Mr. Wyatt, Ms. Wells, Mr. South, Mr. Adams, Mr. Simpson, Mr. Conwell, Mr. Oehrle, Mr. Smith, Mr. Bowman, and Ms. Robinson-Garvin. The motion passes unanimously.

There is a motion to approve the Updated SY2023 Calendar as previously circulated to the board, which is moved by Mr. South and seconded by Mr. Smith. The following board members vote in the affirmative: Mr. Wyatt, Ms. Robinson-Garvin, Mr. South, Mr. Adams, Mr. Simpson, Mr. Oehrle, Mr. Smith, Ms. Wells, Mr. Conwell, and Mr. Bowman. The motion passes unanimously.

There is a motion to approve the Updated Admissions and Enrollment Policy as previously circulated to the board, which is moved by Mr. South and seconded by Mr. Conwell. The following board members vote in the affirmative: Mr. Wyatt, Mr. Bowman, Mr. Conwell, Mr. South, Mr. Adams, Ms. Robinson-Garvin, Mr. Simpson, Mr. Oehrle, Mr. Smith, and Ms. Wells. The motion passes unanimously.

There is a motion to approve the Updated Student Health Services Policy as previously circulated to the board, which is moved by Mr. Bowman and seconded by Mr. Smith. The following board members vote in the affirmative: Mr. Wyatt, Mr. Bowman, Ms. Robinson-Garvin, Mr. Conwell, Mr. Simpson, Mr. South, Mr. Adams, Mr. Oehrle, and Ms. Wells. The motion passes unanimously.

There is a motion to approve the Suspension and Expulsion Policy as previously circulated to the board, which is moved by Mr. Conwell and seconded by Mr. Smith. The following board members vote in the affirmative: Mr. Oehrle, Mr. South, Ms. Robinson-Garvin, Mr. Wyatt, Mr. Bowman, Mr. Conwell, Mr. Simpson, Mr. Adams, Mr. Smith, and Ms. Wells. The motion passes unanimously.

There is a motion to approve the Updated Student Records Policy as previously circulated to the board, which is moved by Mr. South and seconded by Mr. Wyatt. The following board members vote in the affirmative: Mr. Oehrle, Ms. Wells, Mr. Adams, Mr. Wyatt, Mr. Bowman, Mr. Conwell, Mr. Simpson, Mr. South, Mr. Smith, and Ms. Robinson-Garvin. The motion passes unanimously.

There is a motion to approve the Updated Employee Handbook as previously circulated to the board, which is moved by Mr. South and seconded by Mr. Bowman. The following board members vote in the affirmative: Ms. Robinson-Garvin, Mr. South, Mr. Adams, Mr. Wyatt, Mr. Bowman, Mr. Conwell, Mr. Simpson, Mr. Smith, Mr. Oehrle, and Ms. Wells. The motion passes unanimously.

There is a motion to approve the Staff Verification Affidavit as previously circulated to the board, which is moved by Mr. South and seconded by Ms. Wells. The following board members vote in the affirmative: Ms. Wells, Mr. South, Mr. Smith, Mr. Wyatt, Mr. Adams, Mr. Conwell, Mr. Simpson, Mr. Oehrle, Ms. Robinson-Garvin, Mr. Bowman, and Mr. Johnson. The motion passes unanimously.

## IV. <u>Board Committee Reports</u>

a. Finance: Colleen Smith

{02239957;v1 }

There is a motion to approve the Resolution regarding Depositories for School Funds as previously circulated to the board, which is moved by Mr. Conwell and seconded by Mr. Johnson. The following board members vote in the affirmative: Ms. Wells, Mr. Johnson, Mr. Smith, Mr. Wyatt, Mr. Adams, Mr. Conwell, Mr. Simpson, Mr. South, Mr. Oehrle, Ms. Robinson-Garvin, and Mr. Bowman. The motion passes unanimously.

There is a motion to approve the Resolution regarding Treasurer Duties and Responsibilities as previously circulated to the board, which is moved by Mr. South and seconded by Ms. Robinson-Garvin. The following board members vote in the affirmative: Mr. Bowman, Mr. South, Ms. Wells, Mr. Wyatt, Mr. Adams, Mr. Conwell, Mr. Simpson, Mr. Oehrle, Mr. Smith, Ms. Robinson-Garvin, and Mr. Johnson. The motion passes unanimously.

There is a motion to approve the Internal Controls and Financial Policies as previously circulated to the board, which is moved by Mr. Simpson and seconded by Mr. South. The following board members vote in the affirmative: Mr. South, Mr. Johnson, Ms. Wells, Mr. Wyatt, Mr. Adams, Mr. Conwell, Mr. Simpson, Mr. Oehrle, Mr. Smith, Ms. Robinson-Garvin, and Mr. Bowman. The motion passes unanimously.

## b. Governance: Albert Oehrle

There is a motion to approve the Updated Bylaws as previously circulated to the board, which is moved by Mr. Oehrle and seconded by Mr. Bowman. The following board members vote in the affirmative: Mr. Smith, Mr. Bowman, Mr. Wyatt, Ms. Robinson-Garvin, Mr. Oehrle, Mr. Johnson, Mr. Conwell, Mr. South, Mr. Simpson, Mr. Adams, and Ms. Wells. The motion passes unanimously.

There is a motion to approve the Updated Conflict of Interest Policy as previously circulated to the board, which is moved by Mr. Oehrle and seconded by Mr. Bowman. The following board members vote in the affirmative: Mr. South, Mr. Bowman, Mr. Wyatt, Mr. Adams, Mr. Oehrle, Mr. Johnson, Mr. Simpson, Mr. Conwell, Ms. Robinson-Garvin, Mr. Smith, and Ms. Wells. The motion passes unanimously.

There is a motion to approve the Closure and Dissolution Plan and Policy as previously circulated to the board, which is moved by Mr. Oehrle and seconded by Mr. South. The following board members vote in the affirmative: Mr. South, Mr. Wyatt, Ms. Wells, Mr. Adams, Mr. Oehrle, Mr. Johnson, Mr. Simpson, Mr. Conwell, Mr. Smith, Ms. Robinson-Garvin, and Mr. Bowman. The motion passes unanimously.

There is a motion to approve the Resolution regarding Execution of the Renewal Charter Agreement as discussed in executive session pending successful interaction with the Charter School Office, which is moved by Mr. Bowman and seconded by Mr. Oehrle. The following board members vote in the affirmative: Mr. Wyatt, Ms. Wells, Mr. Bowman, Mr. Adams, Mr. Oehrle, Mr. Johnson, Mr. Simpson, Mr. Conwell, Mr. South, Mr. Smith, and Ms. Robinson-Garvin. The motion passes

{02239957;v1 }

unanimously. Mr. Wyatt notes that Ms. Woodward is also in the affirmative for this resolution.

Mr. Wyatt thanks those who attended and announces that the board will reconvene in July.

The meeting adjourns at 9:22 a.m.

{02239957;v1 }